The American Fisheries Society, President Scott Bonar, and the Ohio Chapter are excited to host the 150th AFS Annual Meeting, August 30–September 3, 2020. Columbus will be a fantastic location to commemorate 150 years of dedication to fisheries science. Join us for special celebrations throughout the conference. The past, present, and future of fisheries science will be on display as we bring together professionals from across North America and countries throughout the world. We will solicit symposia topics, contributed papers, and posters that exemplify the latest research in fisheries science and that will benefit a range of audiences with the aim of advancing the science of fisheries ecology, conservation, and management.


  • Symposium proposal submission will be opening soon.
  • Proposals for Symposia must be submitted by January 17, 2020.
  • Accepted Symposia proposals will be posted on the conference website on February 14, 2020.
  • If accepted, organizers must submit a complete list of confirmed presentations and titles by March 13, 2020.
  • Abstracts for Symposium oral presentations must be submitted by March 20, 2020.


  • Those who wish to present in Contributed Papers or Poster sessions at the 2020 AFS Annual Meeting are required to submit abstracts by March 20, 2020. This includes Student Presentations.
  • Confirmation of acceptance or refusal of abstracts will be communicated by April 17, 2020.
  • Student presentations will be considered for a “best presentation” award if the student fills out additional application paperwork available at


  • Continuing Education courses are held during the weekend prior to the official opening of the Annual Meeting – Saturday, August 29 and Sunday, August 30, 2020 in Columbus.
  • Course submissions are to be reviewed by the Continuing Education Committee, prior to being added to the Annual Meeting schedule.
  • Course proposals must be submitted by January 21, 2020.


Symposia Chair:
Stuart Ludsin
The Ohio State University
Aquatic Ecology Lab
Email: [email protected]

Contributed Sessions Chair:
Joseph Conroy
Ohio Department of Natural Resources
Email: [email protected]

Posters Chair:
Matt Faust
Ohio Department of Natural Resources
Email: [email protected]

Continuing Education Chair:
Suzanne Gray
The Ohio State University
Email: [email protected]

AFS does not waive registration fees for presenters at symposia or contributed papers sessions, or workshops. Registration forms will be available on the AFS website ( in May 2020; register early for cost savings.